PDA

View Full Version : Naturally scented hair?

MissDixie
April 24th, 2012, 10:34 AM
I've been washing my hair with Indian herbs for a few months now and although I'm having great results...I'm missing one thing! A scent! What are some ways to naturally scent hair? I have some essential oils that I've tried mixing with carrier oils, but it doesn't seem to last for very long. I would prefer using something that isn't an oil based recipe. I've also tried taking FOTE aloe Vera gel and mixing with EOs, but aloe makes me hair feel dry and stiff. And the one time i put a drop in my herbal mix, it made my hair smell weird!! Do you you have any recipes or ideas or EO blends?
I have:
Jasmine
Orange
Clary sage
Myrrh
Frankincense
Cedarwood
Lemon
Grapefruit
Lavender
Tea tree
Rosemary
Peppermint
Cypress
I think I'm missing one or two but I'm not home so I can't check.
Also the majority smell very medicinal is that normal? I bought mine from WF med, next time I will try buying from somewhere else to compare.

door72067
April 24th, 2012, 11:48 AM
I sometimes use either Ylang Ylang or Dragon's Blood EO to scent my hair and all I do is put a few drops in my hand, rub my hands together so the oil is a thin layer on my palms, then run my hands over my hair

both of those scents last for days in my hair

I've also tried sandalwood and patchouli but neither of those seem to last as long for some reason

Maiken
April 24th, 2012, 12:00 PM
Have you tried coconutoil? It smells wonderfull:)

MissDixie
April 24th, 2012, 12:13 PM
I sometimes use either Ylang Ylang or Dragon's Blood EO to scent my hair and all I do is put a few drops in my hand, rub my hands together so the oil is a thin layer on my palms, then run my hands over my hair

both of those scents last for days in my hair

I've also tried sandalwood and patchouli but neither of those seem to last as long for some reason

Where did you purchase the dragons blood from?! I'm excited about this!

kallarina
April 24th, 2012, 07:02 PM