PDA

View Full Version : Taming Down the Smell of Henna

Mayflower
April 22nd, 2012, 01:31 PM
Hey friends,

I've been doing henna-indigo for the last 2,5 years. Since a few months I'm using high quality henna and indigo (and amla) which results in a colour that stays so I only have to touch up my roots every now and then. But, the smell of it is WAY more overpowering than what I'm used to. I could handle it until the last time, when I threw up twice because the smell got me so nauseous. Tomorrow I'm doing my roots and I don't want to go through that again.

So. Are there any tricks to mask the smell, without interfering with the henna, indigo or amla? I've read that one can add essential oils to the mixture, but do I need to be carefull which ones?

Hope I get an aswer before tomorrow morning, thanks in advance!

swearnsue
April 22nd, 2012, 05:16 PM
I've added different oils but it doesn't really mask the smell and if you add enough it will irritate your scalp anyway. Can you apply the henna outside in the fresh air? I guess I don't have an answer for you, sorry.

Georgies
April 22nd, 2012, 05:34 PM
Ginger! I read that here a bunch of times but I was skeptical that it would work. I thought that an overpowering smell of ginger wouldn't be any better than an overpowering smell of henna. But I put just a bit of ginger in my last mix, half a tsp or less, and it really reduced the smell. It didn't smell like ginger at all, it just made the henna smell less overpowering.

Mayflower
April 24th, 2012, 08:42 AM
I ended up doing it yesterday evening and put ginger and cloves in it and it completely neutralized the scent!!Granted, it was just my roots this time and not my whole head, but I'm so happy I didn't get nauseous.
Thanks you two!

Majala
April 24th, 2012, 12:34 PM