PDA

View Full Version : Flakes ruining my life, any helpful advice would be appreciated!

hippyhair89
April 22nd, 2012, 11:25 AM
Hello LHC, i have been reading and visiting this forum for a pretty long time now, but this would be my first post, so hello!

I am a 22 year old male with mid-back length hair and absolutely love it. However, the thing that i dont love, is the flakes that will absolutely not go away! I guess its a bit of an exaggeration to say it's ruining my life but i can honestly say it is constantly on my mind. the first thing i do when i wake up is run to the mirror and part my hair to see how bad it happens to be this day. If im walking outside and a gust blows my hair i worry that a flake popped out. I work in a restaurant with 20+ other people and always feel so embarrassed at my condition. Basically the flakes are killing my self esteem and confidence and i need to fix this problem! Cutting my hair is not an option.

Last night i used a new product, a vegan hemp-oil shampoo bar. As i sit here typing this my hair "feels" pretty nice to the touch, and the strands are not greasy. However my flakes seem to have become worse than ever. My scalp is a whiteish color and feels pretty dry like it but is covered in a layer of what i think is hardened sebum and their are white flakes in varying size popping out as i run my fingers through it.

Basically my hair care routine for the past couple of months has been, well, a very hands off approach. whenever i try to clean it in some way it always seems to makes things worse. i have been no poo for a long time now (about 2 years?). when i used to use shampoo i hated the way it made my hair feel, and generally made my flaking worse. i tried a few different dandruff shampoos like Head and shoulders, t-gel, nizoral, none of these did much and made my hair feel horrible. three days after a shampoo wash my hair always felt and looked better, which led to me stopping using shampoo.