PDA

View Full Version : Curly Girl Book

Silverbrumby
April 21st, 2012, 06:03 PM
I just bought it and I'm wondering if the issues I'm having with frizz and difficult moody hair are more to do with the fact I might be a curly girl in denial?

First Question:
Anyway I did have a question from the book. She didn't mention much about up do's but I love putting my hair in a bun for protection and work. Do you think it effects the curl? I do have to brush it to get it up in the bun and she did say that brushes were a no no. I use a BBB and sometimes my Tangle Teaster. A comb and finger combing doesn't seem to be enough for up do's.

Second question:
Gel? She mentions gel but doesn't give any brand name recommendations. I've never used gel or mosse before so any help here would be appreciated. I have fine/med hair that frizzes but can look lank if I put too much product in.

Thanks in advance.

misspriss
April 21st, 2012, 06:30 PM
Well, for the first question, putting your hair up usually straightens it out to a looser wave/curl, depending on how curly your hair is to start out with. But when you get it wet again, it will curl right back. For the second question, I don't use gel, so no advice, sorry!

Oh and I rarely use a brush, only when my hair is relatively straight (from bunning). I don't even use a comb, just my fingers. Since you are noticing a lot of frizz and feel the need to use a full brush to get your hair to behave for updos, you might be a curly in disguise! A lot of people think they have "moody" hair and "frizz" and when they start caring for their hair and paying attention to it they find out that it is actually quite wavy/curly!

manderly
April 21st, 2012, 07:41 PM
Part of the charm of a curly updo is that it isn't smooth. I love peacock twist which show off my curls (i think girlcats avatar is a good representation iirc). For any buns I just pull my hair up with no smoothing our finger combing.