PDA

View Full Version : A Newbie's Goal Thread

Rora
April 9th, 2012, 02:30 PM
Well, obviously I'm new here. :D I've wanted long hair ever since I was a child and kept a strictly chin-length 'do. I've been able to grow it down to mid-chest, but as its very fine and wavy, it both breaks and tangles easily. I've been using the water-only method for several years now, which was a huge boost to my hair's health. Recently, I've moved to a colder climate and it seems more breakable. Maybe that's just the water here though?

My desire is to grow it waist length. That's a lofty goal for someone with my hair and height, but I'm willing to experiment until I find something that works.

I've used henna before and it was fantastic on my hair. I was only disappointed it seemed to fade so quickly: I'd probably want to use it at least once a month to get the results I want.

Any tips on strength or length are welcome, and in the meantime, I'll be trawling (not trolling!) the forum for ideas and reporting on my experiments.

caadam
April 9th, 2012, 02:41 PM
Water alone sometimes causes dryness, but it could also have a lot to do with the hardness of your water.

If this be the case, you might want to try chelating some of those minerals off your hair. You can do this with a chelating shampoo, but since you're WO (water only), you can try a citric acid rinse. You can do this with lemon juice mixed with water, or citric acid powder mixed with water.

What this will do is help to remove any mineral deposits off the hair shaft and rinse it away with the water. I suggest not letting the rinse sit in your hair or else it'll cause lightening.