PDA

View Full Version : Highlights

Cocoa_Crema
April 1st, 2012, 12:17 AM
Lately, I've been fantasizing about pretty caramel and chocolate brown highlights in my hair. My hair has been the same for over ten years. The lighter tones are fancy me for the summer.

I want to change it up, however I've never done highlights before. How much damage will I expect if my hair is essentially virgin?

I've also henna'ed and indigo? I'ver heard that I can't do anything to my hair because of this.

Thanks long haired goddesses

sfgirl
April 1st, 2012, 02:58 AM
I don't henna or anything, but I believe as long as it didn't have metallic salts in it, it can be lifted, just with some difficulty.
If you put coconut oil or conditioner (I think justgreen does that) on your hair before you get them, you shouldn't get as much damage.
I think it's important to realize lightened hair is very fragile, and you absolutely can't use heat or rough brush it.
Changing things up is one of the fun things about having hair.

afu
April 1st, 2012, 03:17 AM
I'm not sure about the henna issue im sorry. but i get bleach highlights and following advice from ktani i applied coconut oil all over my hair just before the bleaching, this chelates the effects of the peroxide and prevents damage and really worked for me. One thing i would advise is that you have it done at the hairdressers, they are experienced and you are less likely to get as much damage as froma home kit

Cocoa_Crema
April 1st, 2012, 03:14 PM
I'm not sure about the henna issue im sorry. but i get bleach highlights and following advice from ktani i applied coconut oil all over my hair just before the bleaching, this chelates the effects of the peroxide and prevents damage and really worked for me. One thing i would advise is that you have it done at the hairdressers, they are experienced and you are less likely to get as much damage as froma home kit