PDA

View Full Version : Hair vitamin question

Geneva99
March 24th, 2012, 09:16 PM
Hi Everyone:

Newbie here. I hope this is the right area to post my ?. I had been looking for a good hair vitamin to help fortify and grow my hair . I went to the store and only found the Applied Nutrition longer stronger hair & nails. I'm wondering if any of you have used this and if so has it worked for you? I was looking for another brand that I researched and apparently works, but I couldn't find at the store.

Right now my shortest layer is APL, and my longest is waist. But I want to get to hip length and have it be strong and healthy. It's a tall order with all that my hair has gone through, but I keep hope alive.

Thanks in advance! :)

sfgirl
March 24th, 2012, 09:54 PM
A good multivitamin usually does the trick.
I take hair skin and nails vitmains, but basically they're just as good as a multi vitamin.
MSM also lengthens the phase of hair that keeps growing (meaning you shed less), and fish and flax oil I heard are good for hair. Some people take biotin too, though this can cause acne.
Protein is always a plus too since that's what your hair is made of!

Sorry I haven't tried that brand. I haven't heard of it. I don't really pay attention to vitamin brands :/

Geneva99
March 24th, 2012, 10:16 PM
Thanks! :):):)

I have MSM powder that I used to mix into green smoothies, it's about the only way I could handle it. But I wasn't aware that it lengthened the anagen phase, that's pretty cool.

cheetahfast
March 25th, 2012, 04:41 AM
Some people take biotin, however it can cause really bad acne, so it might not work for you.
I don't take vitamins personally, and don't plan on it, but I think most brands made for hair and nail growth are actually very similar. It's actually usually like a regular muilt with biotin in it too, maybe with higher doses of each vitamin though.

sashinka22
March 25th, 2012, 06:41 AM