PDA

View Full Version : Length....but is it really?

ChloeDharma
March 15th, 2008, 02:26 PM
Odd one i know.....but i was talking to someone earlier on today and we were talking lengths. I was saying how mine touches the band of my jeans....(i wear low-rise/hipsters) and that when i tried measuring myself, which isn't totally reliable, it was at about 32 inches.

Now this sounds great i know, but....and it's a big BUT.....ok, about 5 inches maybe of my hair is still the old chemically fried stuff, and last year i lost a shedload of hair to TE taking me down from mid ii -ish to i range in thickness. Add to that the fact that my hairline and a good few of my hairs seem not to grow that long PLUS the fried lengths have breakage in them and are quite see through on the individual hairs as i'm fine haired.....and you get the idea.....it doesn't seem to LOOK that long.

Oh and also i have been doing the no trim thing since august 2006 and my hair tapers to a point with fairytale ends.....and i feel a bit of a fraud really. I don't know that it really qualifies as that length even though technically it is.

Does anybody else have this issue? Maybe other fairytale ended non-trimmers who have those shooting ahead strands right ahead of the bulk of the hair?

girlcat36
March 15th, 2008, 03:01 PM
I totally know what you mean. My hair is much shorter than yours, but my ends are so thin that I question myself as to whether it 'qualifies' as length. I feel slightly fraudulent! My hair grows at different rates all over my head so I will always haave fairytale ends.
In the end, though----length is length!! Right? We all can't have superthick hair, I guess.

Delila
March 15th, 2008, 03:08 PM
Yes!! Every fraction of an inch counts. ;););)

Joking aside, I do think it's perfectly fine to use the length of your longest strands as your length number.

My longest strands are at tailbone (Yay!) and there's no way I'm trimming them.