PDA

View Full Version : Hair Melting?

RoseOfClare
March 17th, 2012, 07:43 PM
The other day I had someone say they wanted to know where I got my hair melted at.

My response was "Uh why would I melt my hair?" as i look at my locks.

Apparently my hair does this naturally, I'm a blonde naturally except my roots are ash and my tips are much lighter.

has anyone else had this happen to them?

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a291/catlinrose/hairmelting.jpg

Miss Catrina
March 17th, 2012, 07:47 PM
I haven't experienced it, but I'm a student cosmetologist and it seems pretty common. When we do color services we are instructed to establish the natural level of the hair from the color found at the inner layers of the crown of the head, as well as the ends. There's often a couple levels difference. I guess it's just sun exposure (on virgin hair, anyway - for some people it's the effects of box dye that faded out).

lmfbs
March 17th, 2012, 07:54 PM
My hair does the same thing. Dark brown at roots, bright auburn at ends.

I love your hairstyle too, how do you do it?

RoseOfClare
March 17th, 2012, 07:59 PM
Thank you! OK at least I'm not the only one!

its 2 english braids on the side, the part is about even with my ears, then the 2 side braids are braided into a single english braid in the back

Lightningfury
March 17th, 2012, 08:14 PM
Likewise black roots, brown middle, auburn ends. It's just natural for virgin hair to do that right? Because of sun exposure and the hair aging?

RoseOfClare
March 17th, 2012, 08:19 PM
thats what I figured! i just think it's funny someones asking me who to go to to get it done professionally

SoulOfTheSea
March 17th, 2012, 08:33 PM
I think the actual term for it is "ombre", lol. My hair does that naturally too- dark brown roots and gold on the ends. :)

holothuroidea
March 17th, 2012, 08:39 PM
My hair does the same thing. Dark ash blonde to medium golden blonde.