PDA

View Full Version : In what order do you ACV, mineral oil, tea rinse

Silverbrumby
March 6th, 2012, 12:49 AM
I've been on here long enough to want to try a couple of things I've read about.

1. ACV rinses

2. Mineral oil (baby oil)

3. Tea rinses

But my question is how do you do all 3 with shampooing and conditioning?

Do you C/W/C then put on the ACV, then the tea on top of it (I use rosemary tea) then 3 drops of (for me Argan) oil then 3 drops of mineral oil to finish?

Have I got this right? Do you rinse out the ACV or the tea. I don't think so but now I'm confused.

My entire routine now is:

C/W/C with 20 mins of cond. on the hair before I shower to cleanse. Finger detangle (barely any tangles), oil and that's it. My hair was feeling dry so after reading about how mineral oil helps seal in the moisture I wanted to add it in. I started the tea rinses two weeks ago and I think my shedding has decreased.

Sorry. I know this is a bit all over the place. It's my first attempt at starting a thread.

HintOfMint
March 6th, 2012, 01:27 AM
One thing I know for sure is that the mineral oil is used as a leave-in, so that would be post wash on damp hair.

As for the ACV and tea rinses, I'll give my best shot. According to Ktani, ACV sweeps away some mineral deposits (doesn't quite chelate though) and soap scum, so I would do that immediately following the shampoo part of CWC. It doesn't do much against conditioner residue according to Ktani, so using it at the end of CWC doesn't do much.

As for the tea rinse, since you hinted that it was mainly for your scalp, it depends on what you do with it, whether you rinse it out or leave it in. If you rinse it out, then I would use it right before the last C in CWC so that it has time to soak on your scalp while you're conditioning. If you don't intend to rinse it out, I would do it right after you rinsed out your last bits of conditioner.

Tea rinses are acidic, like ACV, so it should help your cuticle lie flat as well.