PDA

View Full Version : Should I trim?

kaned_ferret
March 3rd, 2012, 08:52 AM
I've been growing for about 18 months so far, from shaved to I think around flip length? It sits on my shoulders mostly now at any rate. I haven't cut anything other than my fringe in all this time. Recently I am noticing a couple of sections, mostly the front bit (but not fringed bits - banged for those of you across the pond) are getting more tangly at the bottom, and the ends are seeming a little rough. There are the tell tale white dots of breakage. It's nothing major.

Am I best to get a trim, or can I just merrily continue my benign neglect for a while longer (well not total neglect, I only finger comb, use coconut oil and CO washing). I plan on S+Ding as a general maintenance as my hair gets longer, but right now it's a bit difficult to see properly as it's not quite long enough to pull in front of me to get a good peek at!

Thoughts and experiences anyone?

MegaMystery
March 3rd, 2012, 09:01 AM
I would get a trim, but i actually like trims :P. The thing is, right now the damage (white dots, tangling) seems like nothing major, but it can only get worse. Damage travels up your hair, so if you don't get rid of it now it might eventually cost you a lot of length instead of the 1/2 inch you might lose now. After you trim, you can go on maintaining your hair with S&D, right now it seems like too much damage for S&D and your hair might be just a little too short to do a proper S&D.
Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

Maktub
March 3rd, 2012, 09:02 AM
I would trimm the tangly ends a bit, but it's very personnal

woolyleprechaun
March 3rd, 2012, 09:03 AM
Id go for trimming it. I think its the hardest thing about the first few years growing from very short, but frequent trims now will reward you later on ;)

Annalouise
March 3rd, 2012, 09:04 AM