PDA

View Full Version : Hair dysmorphia has to be a thing, right?

hototogisu
March 2nd, 2012, 02:28 AM
You ever get the feeling that you'll just never feel comfortable with your hair?

I'm going through a rough patch, hair-wise. I've got about a month's worth of blonde regrowth (I've been colouring copper red for about four years now), and two boxes of Colour B4 Extra on the way. A week of honey treatments left my hair feeling like straw, so I'm trying to stretch washes. I'm avoiding silicones, because I want to use the Colour B4 as soon as it arrives and I don't want a silicone coating to interfere.

I. Look. Awful.

I was just brushing my hair out to put it in a Dutch braid before going for a jog and my hair looks TERRIBLE. Fluffy, 'stiff' fairy floss ends. Greasy roots. Regrowth. My old colour looks orange and dreadful. And I feel like I don't know how to make it look better. I'm sick of braids and pinning my hair into buns, but I feel self conscious whenever my hair is loose, always wondering if it's flat, frizzy, weird-looking. Last week I caught up with a friend and she saw me with my hair loose, and she was surprised that my hair was so long, and then asked me why I grew it long if I kept it up all the time.

Sigh.

I find myself longing to just bust out the curling iron and hairspray and deal with my hair the way everyone else does.

But then I know if I do that my hair will be damaged and... sigh. The cycle continues. But it would be nice just to feel presentable for a change, you know?

Bagginslover
March 2nd, 2012, 02:34 AM
I'm still pretty new here, so I'll probably get blasted for this, but if you need to do something, just oncve to make yourself feel better about your hair, then do it. One session of ironing won't damage your hair so much that you'll have to chop it off and start again, but it'll make you feel so much better about it.

I am definitely in the 'do what it takes to enjoy your hair' camp ;)

Sunny_side_up
March 2nd, 2012, 04:56 AM