PDA

View Full Version : Out in all weather - how to protect my hair?

trampledbygeese
February 29th, 2012, 09:13 PM
So, I'm a farmer. I'm outside at least two hours a day (although, it's more like 10 hours on good weather and really bad weather days) and I'm beginning to wonder if this is having a negative effect on my hair.

What kind of damage can being outside do to your hair? I know sunlight can cause damage to anything, but what about being frozen, attacked by chickens, pelted by hale...?

What type of things can I do to protect my hair (I want it to grow long and healthy) while I'm working on the farm? I'm very active, and tend to wear a sun hat, but I noticed when I keep my hair in one or two braids, it gets a lot split ends.

I'm aiming for as little product possible (due to allergies), or natural thing I can make with the ingredients in my kitchen. I had a quick search and couldn't find any threads on this topic, but if one is already out there, please feel free to point me in the right direction.

:)

Viscountess
February 29th, 2012, 09:20 PM
Invest in a set of spin pins! I find when I braided my hair I'd get splits too, but by keeping my hair up with spin spins the wind doesn't tear and tug at it, and I can wear a hat over the bun (I wear a 'newsboy' style hat which gives me enough bun space) when its cold.

The spin pins hold my hair very solidly. They rock

trampledbygeese
February 29th, 2012, 09:23 PM
Sounds very useful. Where do spin pins come from?

I only just learn how to put my hair up in a bun using a chop stick, so I'm pretty new to the whole care-about-my-hair process. :)

Viscountess
February 29th, 2012, 09:27 PM
http://www.thekit.ca/beauty/hair/goody-spin-pins/

You can find them at your Walmart - I got my latest set at Ardene's in the mall here and I've seen them at the grocery store. they really work well

here's a link showing you what you're looking for. You Tube has a bunch of tutorials too.

PixxieStix
February 29th, 2012, 09:36 PM