PDA

View Full Version : Jojoba oil as a heat protectant?

iloveyourstory
February 26th, 2012, 06:36 PM
I've stopped using silicones entirely but I'm having one issue...what to do for a heat protectant? I used to use the spray ones full of silicones, the aveda serum, and the CHI serum. Now that I'm without all of those products, what do I use? I don't use heat that often, but can I use jojoba oil? I've read that you need to use silicone based products because it coats the hair and protects it better. What do you think? :bull:

Lipbalmbabe
February 26th, 2012, 06:40 PM
Try Agan oil mixed with jojoba

HylianGirl
February 26th, 2012, 09:08 PM
hm.. I'm no expert, but... wouldn't oils+heat fry your hair?

SoulOfTheSea
February 26th, 2012, 10:03 PM
I've done this before, and let me tell you, the results weren't great. First off, it made my hair smell terrible. Second, it made my hair all lank and it didn't look shiny at all. I wouldn't do it if I were you, just out of personal experience. (I did this on my high school graduation in June! Eeek!)

Mopolop
February 26th, 2012, 11:10 PM
I tried various oils when straightening, I didn't get good results from any of them. :(

longhairedleah
February 27th, 2012, 08:40 AM
I never use silicones either, but if on the rare occasions that I use heat on my hair I use as much as possible! I like Moroccan Oil because it doesn't make my hair greasy and I can use a ton of product! BioSilk is also good, but I prefer the Moroccan Oil (it's a brand, not just argan oil)

My hair is pretty weak as it is I think, I don't want to risk any heat damage!!

rock007junkie
February 27th, 2012, 09:35 AM
The one oil I keep reading around that it's very effective as a heat protectant is grapeseed oil.

Sammich
February 27th, 2012, 09:41 AM
hm.. I'm no expert, but... wouldn't oils+heat fry your hair?

I was going to post this.

Yeah.
Oils and heat = doom

Try oil on your skin in the sun. Youch, I've done that before!

heidi w.