PDA

View Full Version : Is your hair long for religious/spiritual reasons?

Pages : [1] 2 3

brightonwoman
July 20th, 2008, 03:17 PM
(I hope it's okay to ask something like this...I'm still a newbie here, and I wasn't sure where to put this post.)

The title pretty much sums it up...I know that some religions have grooming/modesty standards, and I've seen a few churches where it seemed like all the women had long hair, so I guessed it was probably part of the faith. But I never really knew for sure.
In my case, it's not something my religion asks or requires, but it is something I feel spiritual about...having long hair, and the time and care involved in growing it, makes me feel more in touch with nature and the Divine, you know? And I really like that.
What about you?

Saryn Jumail
July 20th, 2008, 03:20 PM
Well, I'm Jewish, and we're not supposed to cut our hair, but that's not the only reason I'm growing it.
I'm growing it because I like it, and because a lot of the people around here don't appreciate long hair, and I want to be able to show them that having long, healthy hair is possible.

mommy2one05
July 20th, 2008, 03:23 PM
Yes my long hair is for religious reasons. When I was younger I had hair almost down to my ankles (I won the Illinois state ponytail contest several times), but then when I got out of church I cut my hair till it was a little shorter than touching shoulders (this was multiple cuts) and I could only get a stub of a ponytail . The last cut was in the late fall of 2004 and since then I got back in church and have been growing my hair....now it is waist lenght but it really feels like it grows slow. By the way I am Pentecostal/Apostolic. Feel free to ask any questions and I will not shove the religion down your throat.

AJoifulNoise
July 20th, 2008, 03:23 PM
Yes and no.