PDA

View Full Version : First time Henna Recipe.

feralena
February 25th, 2012, 12:37 PM
Hello ladies! I just wanted to share that I've been researching this henna thing for a couple months now and finally have decided to take the plunge. I have been coloring my hair chemically with Clairol's "flame" and I hate how often I have to do it and how badly my hair feels when it starts to fade.

So, henna it is. I decided to go with Henna Sooq's Red Raj. Vanessa their help lady has been an incredible wealth of knowledge.

Here's the recipe I used (I'm still waiting for the dye-release!):

100 g Red Raj Henna powder
chamomile steeped in rose water (the chamomile for moisturizing)
1 tablespoon of paprika (stimulates the fiery aspects of henna)
1 teaspoon of ginger (for pleasant scent)
1 teaspoon olive oil (to help it not dry my poor dry hair more)
1 teaspoon ACV (some ladies like it more than lemon juice)

I was going to use cardamom for added scent but apparently it has lightening properties, like cinnamon and honey, so decided to skip that wild card.

I'm letting it dye-release for 3-4 hours, then after application I will check it every half hour. Since Red Raj has such a high lawsone content, it might infuse my hair much quicker and I'm really hoping for a nice fiery rich red. For Burgundy shades, Vanessa recommends 4+hours on the head, whereas I probably won't go more than 3.

Next time I hopefully will have some lovely essential oils to perfume it with, but until then I'm definitely not offended by the earthy hay-like smell of the henna itself. I love that I'm putting a plant on my head that will get me to such a beautiful red!

I will try to provide pictures when all is said and done but I am new at this!

So here goes nothin'-

CopperHead
February 25th, 2012, 01:11 PM