PDA

View Full Version : Wearing hair down

Amber_Maiden
February 24th, 2012, 11:22 AM
I know many of us longhairs like to wear our hair up to protect it, but what about the occasional time when you want to wear it down- how do you protect it?

I've been wearing my hair up for the last five months, and I've on;y worn it down one in that time- at one party at xmas. Since then I haven't and I've grown even more anxious about wearing it down- I'm worried about damaging it, especially my ends.

Any tips?? Or even any other members who share an anxiety like mine?

(P.S. By wearing it down I mean that it's not in a bun, in a half up bun, or in a braid- I mean loose and free!)

Thank you!

Madora
February 24th, 2012, 11:30 AM
If you're going "loose and free" then make it a special point to try and avoid any situation where your hair might get caught in something.

Bring your hair in front of you when leaning back against something.

But most importantly, detangle often. There's nothing worse than having to deal with tangles after hours of letting your hair hang loose..unless you've been sitting very quietly and not moving around much.

Kelikea
February 24th, 2012, 11:39 AM
I take a wide tooth comb in my purse and detangle the underside whenever I go to the bathroom. When my hands are wet (from washing) I freshen up my waves.

jeanniet
February 24th, 2012, 11:46 AM
Pretty much the only time I wear my hair down when I'm "out" is when we're at a nice restaurant and I'm not moving around too much so I don't have to worry about getting it caught on something. But I do wear it down at home quite a bit (a few hours a day, typically) and honestly I don't worry about it that much. I guess at home I kind of automatically know what to watch out for. If I'm doing something like cleaning I put it up in a bun or use a Buff. I very, very rarely wear it down outside because even a slight breeze causes big tangles.