PDA

View Full Version : What would you tell your newbie self?

Delila
February 21st, 2012, 09:22 PM
If you could send a message back to yourself as a newbie here, what would you want yourself to know?

Me?

Be patient. Your hair really will grow to long lengths, seriously, it will, no matter what your hairstylists have always tried to tell you.

Be gentle. Putting your hair up and avoiding mechanical damage will do a lot of good to gain a thicker hemline.

Life without bangs is worth the struggle, so just hang in there.

At some point past waist, my hair gets easier to cope with. Seems I can cope with either super short or past-waist length hair, but don't much like anything in between.

What's true for you? Any words of wisdom you'd wish you'd known back when?

Quahatundightu
February 21st, 2012, 09:28 PM
You need to trim your hair often, it's too thin for no-trim! You will only stall your growth.. for years...! If only I'd known that I think my hair would be longer and in better condition now.

Lissandria
February 21st, 2012, 09:29 PM
Well I guess I'm still a newbie, however I definitely wish I hadn't tried so much in the beginning in such a short space of time. The two week rule is key. This is hard because of the wealth of information when you first join. I see what you mean OP about being patient, but I'm still impatient. Only when I have BSL hair with thick, healthy ends will I truly believe I can grow long, healthy hair.

turtlelover
February 21st, 2012, 09:30 PM
STEP AWAY FROM THE SCISSORS and have your husband hide them from you!

maborosi
February 21st, 2012, 09:32 PM
Stay away from indigo.

~maborosi~

Miss Maisie
February 21st, 2012, 09:34 PM
It's okay to blow your hair dry. Don't give yourself a panic attack if you need to use it on low a few times a week. But DEFINITELY throw out that flat iron.

Keller1128
February 21st, 2012, 09:40 PM
Yes, get a wide-toothed comb, but not a plastic one with seams!

Miss Catrina
February 21st, 2012, 10:04 PM