PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about a drastic cut

Chanteuse87
February 20th, 2012, 08:35 AM
Hi all -- I don't normally post in this forum, mostly because I've refined my own hair routine and am super happy with it. I've been growing my hair out since 2007, and it's nearly to hip these days (if not there already). I love my henna glosses, and my fine hair is in fabulous condition and doesn't have many splits.

There are plenty of things I love about long hair, obviously, I love the versatility, I love the compliments I get, and I love the way it feels. However, I'm feeling the need for a change. I recently lost a bunch of weight, and I'm graduating with my masters degree this May. I'm making lots of life changes, and I find myself missing the short haircut that I got going into college. I figure if I end up missing long hair, as I probably will at some point, I can always grow it out again :) It's only a three or four year commitment, which is really not bad in the scheme of things.

So we'll see. I'm going to sit and think about it for a few months, but will mostly likely chop to chin length before I head to New Mexico in June.

XcaliburGirl
February 20th, 2012, 08:52 AM
I'm of the opinion that if you really want to chop your hair, and you are going into it with eyes open as far as the looong awkward grow-out period, then you should do it. I did it because I wanted to see how I looked with a pixie. I don't truly regret it because I know I needed to try it. However, there are some days I wish I could go long again as easily as I went short.

Definitely think about it long enough to make sure it isn't a whim (2 weeks at least!). Also, consider chopping to SL first, that way you can still put it up in a ponytail. This is a sore point for me a the moment. Also, if you do go chin, the fewer layers and angles, the easier it is to grow out with minimal trimming.

HintOfMint
February 20th, 2012, 09:05 AM