PDA

View Full Version : Tying hair overnight or not?

Pecheresse
February 19th, 2012, 06:01 AM
Well I'm sure this topic has been discussed a hundred thousand times already but I am a newbie so bare with me :p

My question is the following my hair is currently at shoulder length, is this the most critical length that risks breakages when tossing and turning at night?

Tying it wont hold, whether in a bun or braided. I would like to keep it from being damaged overnight specially during this *intermediary* length.... Any ideas?

pepperminttea
February 19th, 2012, 06:41 AM
Many people swear by silk-satin sleep caps? :) Assuming you're in the US, there's some specific product recommendations in this thread (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=33457) that might interest you.

Pecheresse
February 19th, 2012, 06:53 AM
Thank you very much. :)

silverjen
At shoulder length, a top-of-the-head ponytail or bun should work. It will get the majority of your length up, even though your shortest hair probably won't reach yet. I use this method, and right now I'm at chin.

whitedove
I know this may sound silly but have you tried doing more than 1 braid? I use to split my hair into quarters and braid all 4. Makes you look silly but it is a option for you. :)

ravenheather
February 19th, 2012, 07:11 AM
I use a top of the head bun or a twist in back with a snap barrette. Then I cover with a silk scarf. It usually stays on half the night or more.

jacqueline101
February 19th, 2012, 07:19 AM
I haven't tied my hair up but I do buns and different sleep styles.

Madora
February 19th, 2012, 07:20 AM
I second the sleep cap idea.

If you want to protect your hair, I would not suggest putting it in a ponytail holder of any sort.

You also might like to try braiding a shoelace into your braid and tying it off to hold it in place.

Pecheresse
February 19th, 2012, 07:44 AM