PDA

View Full Version : what are some protective style I can do without alot of hair toys?

Zhennni(:
February 18th, 2012, 11:12 PM
Hi everyone! :) I know that putting your hair up in a protective style will reduce tangles and breakage; however I am a poor highschool student who does't have the money to buy expensive hair combs, forks, and sticks etc. All I have are hair ties, bobby pins, and claw clips. I used to be able to secure a french twist with a claw clip but now my hair is getting too long( waist length and pretty thick) and the clip doesnt secure it well. Also my hair is heavily layered :/ I can't even do a french briad without pieces of hair sticking/falling out :( Do you guys have any suggestions of styles I can do? or maybe recommend really cheap hair toys that i can afford? thanks alot!:)

HintOfMint
February 18th, 2012, 11:13 PM
Spin pins are pretty cheap and available at most drugstore type places (CVS, Target... etc.)

I swear by them, I don't even own any hairtoys, and I'm perfectly happy with the styles I can create.

Zhennni(:
February 18th, 2012, 11:25 PM
are they easy to use?:o I suck at using pins:P I have trouble using the U shaped pins :/

HintOfMint
February 18th, 2012, 11:29 PM
are they easy to use?:o I suck at using pins:P I have trouble using the U shaped pins :/

They are ridiculously easy. Try a cinnabun first and use two spin pins, one where the ends tuck in, and another on the opposite side. Think of it as "sewing" your hair; as you twist the pins in, they thread through your bun and the scalp hair and hold it together.

It's pretty intuitive, once you see them, you'll understand.

U shaped pins are a pain in my booty, I can imagine they're difficult for most people.

Zhennni(:
February 18th, 2012, 11:38 PM