PDA

View Full Version : Growing out "thinned-out" hair

Tangles
July 17th, 2008, 07:14 PM
I just remembered that my spring "chop", which was just above shoulder length, was thinned out slightly by my stylist.
I've been growing with no trims for nearly three months.
The stylist thinned just a tiny bit around the base of my head to prevent my hair from poofing out there.

My question is when will this thickness begin growing back in? I haven't noticed a change yet.

On a different note I was wondering if any of you with really long wavy hair have it thinned out regularly to make it more manageable.
Doesn't sound like orthodox LHC to me but I was curious ;)

Speedbump
July 17th, 2008, 08:31 PM
I am a true curly, and my experience with "thinning out" was terrible. The more your hair bends, the worse thinning shears are for your hair's natural wave/curl formation. That can create Alfalfa Hair :lol: or it can just make your hair go all over the place because the hair's natural formations are disrupted.

The thickness will take a while depending on how short the stylist cut the hairs. If he/she cut them as short as mine did, then it's going to be a while.

Also, cutting some of the hair short to prevent poofing just prolongs your pain. The best way to get rid of poof when you are growing it to wait for your hair's weight to remove it. You can also make sure it's very moisturized; that reduces poofing as well.

HTH!

Speedy

tiny_teesha
July 18th, 2008, 02:58 AM
I have thinned out hair from ruining it basically from dye, bleach, bad car etc.
Now i am growing it out, i have a distinct thick tuft of baby hair that is just grazing my sholder after not useing hair dye for 1 year and 7 months! WOOT!
When your hair gets longer most likely it will naturally taper and you won't need to "thin it out" with layers or anything. It also depends what look you are after- i LOVE triangle head....not many do...i LOVE it. And i don't have it :( lol