PDA

View Full Version : Curls curls...so confusing.

misspriss
July 16th, 2008, 05:55 PM
When I was a small child, my hair was not too curly at all, barely any. When I was 12, I cut my hair off short and it curled. I've heard it could be connected to puberty. It stayed pretty curly all through my teen years, I fought with it and loved it and everything inbetween. I also wore it long, during my last stint with LHC. Right before I graduated, I cut my hair. I have not reliably worn it curly since. It's been two and a half years of maintaining fairly short hair and wearing it wavy or straight.

Well, now I cannot get it to curl the same way. Is it possible that it has changed yet again? I saw a picture of me with about the same length hair when I was in high school, and I had beautiful curls. Now if I can coax waves out, I am happy. I know it is not quite as long and I'm using a totally different care regimine, but still. It's frustrating. When I finally decide I love my curls, they aren't there anymore.

I know at the time those pictures were taken, I was coloring my hair black regularly, and I believe Iwas using Jason biotin shampoo and condish.

It's just so frustrating. gah.

Riot Crrl
July 16th, 2008, 05:58 PM
It might be changing, it might be care-related, or it might be part of your curl pattern that it only curls when it gets longer.

misspriss
July 16th, 2008, 05:59 PM
Well the way I discovered it was curly was when I cut it off short, it used to curl at this length...I'm just so frustrated.

kwaniesiam
July 16th, 2008, 06:03 PM
Could it be a product issue? I have a friend with short 2C hair that can get it almost to look 1C when using cones. Also water can play a factor. Have you changed locations since then? Hard or soft water can affect your curl pattern.

MotherConfessor
July 16th, 2008, 07:48 PM