PDA

View Full Version : Tips/Advice for better braids?

TiffanieJean
January 26th, 2012, 11:44 AM
I'm horrible at braiding my hair... I've been looking at the hairstyles on here and trying some of them out, but they never turn out looking presentable. I'm new at this getting pretty frustrated.

Every time I try to braid my hair it ends up messy. I cannot do a French braid to save my life. My hair is waist length and fine. It wont stay in an updo very well (because it's fine and a little slippery), so a lot of my problems stem from that. Is there any way to make a braid look fuller?

Any tips, links or whatever else would be greatly appreciated!

door72067
January 26th, 2012, 11:47 AM
maybe try braiding a ribbon into it for added fullness?

Trinka
January 26th, 2012, 11:51 AM
Have you tried braiding when your hair is wet? It tends to be more cooperative then.

TiffanieJean
January 26th, 2012, 11:59 AM
Have you tried braiding when your hair is wet? It tends to be more cooperative then.

I'll try that. Would making it damp help?

Hollyfire3
January 26th, 2012, 12:09 PM

Yes, damp hair would work, just spray it with water a bit until damp, you don't want it dripping because it will make the braid look different.

MandyBeth
January 26th, 2012, 12:10 PM
Very much so! It might look a bit messy still, but starting with wet/damp hair makes it stick together more. So it's easier to learn with damp hair, then as you get better, you can practice going to dry hair.

However, as a fellow fine haired person, I braid my hair dry, I have it all fuzzy by the time I'm two turns down.

Madora
January 26th, 2012, 12:24 PM
I'm horrible at braiding my hair... I've been looking at the hairstyles on here and trying some of them out, but they never turn out looking presentable. I'm new at this getting pretty frustrated.