PDA

View Full Version : Best way to get GREASE out of hair?

nakmom
January 17th, 2012, 10:17 PM
I work as a waitress in my family's cafe, but here recently I've been filling in for the cook since she can never seem to make it to work :rolleyes: Anyway, my hair is GROSS after standing over the grill for 8 hours. I always have to get a new drink after the lunch rush because there will be grease floating in it. The grease is THAT thick in the air :bigeyes:

So today I started thinking about how this is affecting my hair. I've been CWC once a week and CO the rest of the week. What's the best way to protect my hair from all this nasty grease and what's the best way to clean it after work? I know clarifying shampoos are harsh and should be used sparingly, but should I be using one after days I cook? Or will normal shampoo be good enough? And since I'm washing ALL of my hair on the days I cook, what's a good, cheap conditioner to use to put moisture back into my hair?

Thanks in advance!:flower: I'm heading to bed since I have an early day again tomorrow, but I'll be back to check later! :waving:

battles
January 17th, 2012, 10:21 PM
Are you able to keep your hair up in a scarf while you work?

I'm not sure about wash methods, but Garnier Triple Nutrition is nice for moisture. Cone free and it's about 3 dollars a bottle, which isn't bad.

Nedertane
January 17th, 2012, 10:40 PM
Indeed, I think you ought to at least start out by getting a cap, or hair net of some kind.

sfgirl
January 18th, 2012, 12:12 AM
I had a similar problem making popcorn at a theater when I was younger. My hair wasn't the healthiest, but I didn't really need clarifying shampoo. I just lathered, rinsed, and repeated. Usually shampooing twice got the job done. I'm sorry you have to deal with that, keeping my skin from breaking out was so hard!

trolleypup
January 18th, 2012, 12:40 AM