PDA

View Full Version : Hairstyles for Sleep

airmid
January 17th, 2012, 05:11 PM
Hi! I was wondering what alternatives for braids there are for sleeping that I could try. Preferably ones that cause some kind of waves in the hair. I've been braiding and I love the waves I get but the elastics are damaging my ends (I use ouchless ones but they still hurt my hair, it's been shedding a lot recently so I have to be careful what I use). I'm not very good at hairstyling, so something very simple and very easy, preferably elastic-free, that will be good for fragile, BSL length hair. Thanks! :)

Anywhere
January 17th, 2012, 05:15 PM
A fully rolled sock bun on the top of the head might work, or any type of bun on top of your head for that matter.

BlondieHepburn
January 17th, 2012, 05:17 PM
I've been doing a sock bun on top of my head at night and it's wonderful. Stays out of the way, no tangles, and nice soft curls in the morning.

blondyhead
January 17th, 2012, 05:23 PM
One of the best things i ever did was get a silk pillow case. Not only does it feel AMAZING! but you get no tangles and no frizz!

airmid
January 17th, 2012, 05:41 PM
Thanks!
How does one do a sock bun, and what do you pin it up with? :) I'm a little clueless about these things, hahahaha!
I must see about getting a silk pillowcase, too! Sounds lovely!

RitaPG
January 17th, 2012, 05:42 PM
I agree with the previous comment, a satin pillowcase does wonders. The fabric is much more delicate and doesn't rub off your hair, I swear that sometimes I wake up and don't even have messy hair, let alone tangles. Even if I sleep with my hair loose :D

hellokrilly
January 17th, 2012, 05:45 PM
Sock bun is amazing and I love taking it off in the morning,it gives nice curls here is a tutorial:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I13J7ArHTkM

Fairy tale
January 17th, 2012, 05:46 PM
YOu don't use any pins to do a sock bun I agree it is definatley the best to sleep in and for curls here is a link that explains it