PDA

View Full Version : Do antidepressants stunt hair growth?

Mkay
January 6th, 2012, 03:27 PM
I'm genuinely curious, considering they slow down your body, correct? Has there been any information or studies on this? If this is the case, man I don't know what I'll do! Thank you!

amantha
January 6th, 2012, 03:45 PM
I've never heard of anti-depressants slowing down your body nor stunting hair growth. I've been off and on them for about 6 years and my hair has always grown at the same rate and my activity levels have always been the same.

Some anti-depressants might make you sleepy. So that is the only thing I can think of that they could do to "slow" you down.

Obviously I'm not a doctor so someone correct me if I'm wrong here.

But yeah I don't think you have anything to worry about! :)

vanity_acefake
January 6th, 2012, 03:50 PM
Having being on antidepressants constantly since 2000 I promise you that they do not slow down hair growth. They work on the brain not the body.

sbhonda
January 6th, 2012, 04:01 PM
I doubt the effect would be significant either way, but I think if anything they would improve hair growth that may have been slowed down by depression. Depression itself can slow down your body processes, including healing and possibly hair growth too I suppose. Treating the depression might allow one's body to get back to its normal level of functioning, if it wasn't already there.

Mkay
January 6th, 2012, 04:16 PM
Alright, awesome! I was a little worried but I'm glad it won't affect anything!

ALongSummerWind
January 6th, 2012, 04:18 PM
Some do, it depends upon which ones you take and how much. Go onto a med site and look up you med and possible side effects, this may help. The worst one I have heard of for causing hair loss is Depakote

ALongSummerWind
January 6th, 2012, 04:19 PM