PDA

View Full Version : Oiling Hair Styles?

Emaebe
January 5th, 2012, 10:30 PM
Hey everyone,

I was wondering are there any hair styles that would allow you to say go to work (I work night audit at a hotel so I see like 10 people total at night) that would allow me to put in coconut oil in my hair braid it up and then go to work-maybe with a scarf?- and the only thing people would notice is that my hair is extra shiny? (I've mostly been using olive oil and castor oil but I figure the smell isn't as nice as coconut) I mean everytime I wake up with oil in my hair it just seems extra shiny and a slightly more intense color if that makes sense at all (I have blonde hair) and I actually don't mind the look. I especially think it would look pretty good in french braids. Any ideas/tutorials? Dos or don'ts?

Also, I work as a dog walker during the day. And I was thinking that I could probably put oil on my hair, braid it, and then put it under a hat or scarf while I walked the dogs. I just live in a super dry clime (usually we get buckets of snow during the winter but it's just been extra dry) so the oil is a huge relief for my hair. Any suggestions, styles, different/less noticeable oils, etc would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

akilina
January 5th, 2012, 10:33 PM
idk... i probably would not go to work with my scalp oiled...but i do oil my length and bun it. no one even knows : ))

Darkessa
January 5th, 2012, 10:49 PM
I would say, try just french braiding it. Simple as that.
I find when i french braid it (Primarily Dutch) I cant notice the super oilyness, so it seems to be perfect!
OR
Alternatively to braiding, you could cinnamon bun it and wear a scarf or hat!

allio21
January 5th, 2012, 10:51 PM
I usually french braid it tight and if its really drenched in oil I will wear a hat.

Emaebe
January 5th, 2012, 11:08 PM