PDA

View Full Version : Extremely oily scalp & breaking ends

jinnaa
January 5th, 2012, 01:27 AM
Hi all,

First of all I'm new here. My name is Jinna and I'm a photographer from Amsterdam who's looking to move to the States. I've had short hair all my life (really short and a bob later on) and thought that my hair couldn't get long but I started to grow my hair out 4 years ago and I think it's at 30 inches right now (I will post photos of my hair later.)

My problem is that I have an extremely oily scalp, occassional scalp acne, and dry ends. I've used nexxus shampoo for a while but this only made my scalp greasier so I decided to use Sebamed anti-dandruff shampoo (http://www.sebamed.com/index.php?id=1144&L=1).
This works great for my scalp and I can go days without washing, however, the rest of my hair (especially the ends) get extremely dry and brittle from this shampoo.

Are there other ways to battle an oily scalp? I've recently started using Almond oil on my ends and this seems to make a tiny difference but the hairs in the nape of my neck and on the sides are EXTREMELY dry and there's a lot of breakage. I'm worried that the ends will keep breaking off and that I'd have to cut my hair. shudder:

I hope there's someone out there who has some good advice!

Thanks!

the.fee.fairy
January 5th, 2012, 02:28 AM
You don't say whether you're using a conditioner.

I had the same problem and i changed my washing style completely.

I now only shampoo once, and then i use more conditioner than you're supposed to and apply it all over to moisturise my scalp and ends. Then, put it in a bun, finish all my other shower stuff and then take out the bun and rinse everything.

After washing, I put it in a turbie towel and leave while i get dressed. After that, i take it out and apply a leave-in cream conditioner to the ends and a spray to the lengths.

In the winter, i use conditioner only.