PDA

View Full Version : Headband damage

Lunarise
January 4th, 2012, 05:40 PM
I've been stretching my washes for a few months now. On my no wash days I put my hair in a bun with a headband to cover the greasies... Well today I noticed almost all of my hair in the front around my forehead has broken off! What the heck. What am I supposed to do instead? I cant wear headscarfs to work :/ should I give up on stretching washes in favor of less breakage?

Georgies
January 4th, 2012, 05:53 PM
What kind of headbands? Have you tried satin? This is going to sound silly but in addition to head bands I have mini ficcares to pin back my hair when it's up, otherwise greasy strands fall in my face. They're really tiny, like 2 inches long for holding side bangs etc. and come in pairs, jewel colors available...but they're almost as expensive as regular ficcares (that's the silly part).

Lunarise
January 4th, 2012, 06:09 PM
I've just been using drug store headbands, the thick cloth ones. I didn't think they'd damage my hair so bad! And those clips aren't a bad idea... It just might not hide my greasies enough. It gets pretty bad by the beginning of my 3rd day.
Satin headbands would be great... They look a bit expensive though.

Madora
January 4th, 2012, 08:21 PM
I've just been using drug store headbands, the thick cloth ones. I didn't think they'd damage my hair so bad! And those clips aren't a bad idea... It just might not hide my greasies enough. It gets pretty bad by the beginning of my 3rd day.
Satin headbands would be great... They look a bit expensive though.

Perhaps the fabric is too rough for your delicate front hairs.

Also, be sure you are NOT pulling the bun back tightly. Too tight buns can definitely lead to damage..especially to the front hairs which are very fragile.

missdelarocha
January 5th, 2012, 01:31 AM