PDA

View Full Version : What is your emergency detangling solution?

rrborn
July 14th, 2008, 06:28 AM
I have been growing my hair out for 4 years now, but I have never bothered to do it right. I am blessed with thick wavy hair, that people stop on the street for, but the fact is, underneath there is a big fat mess.

I develop dreads very easily and right now my nape is one big mat. I have been combing it out slowly for a couple of hours now, but I despair that I am going to break half of it off, or have to cut a lot.

If you have a great tip for either preventing those awful nape dreads or how to best get this one out, I would love to hear from you!

bex487
July 14th, 2008, 06:53 AM
Have you tried using any oil to help a bit? That's the first thing I thought of.

lora410
July 14th, 2008, 07:00 AM
I have enver heard of this before but alot of people says tons of conditioner and gentle combing to get dreads out. After that try claifying that area of your hair and see if buildup of cones from poos and condishes is the issue. If not I suggest talking to a stylist

Niphredil
July 14th, 2008, 07:05 AM
If mine is bad enough that I can't detangle with my wide toothed comb when it is still dry, I just jump in the shower, get it all wet, slather on a handfull (or more) of a conditioner that provides a lot of slip, let that sit for a little while and gently, very very gently start to detangle the mess.
First I try to separate the mild and moderate tangles from the severe ones and deal with them first. Then ultimately I have the core of the tangles remaining. If I can't separate any more pieces of hair from that mess, I start using my wide toothed comb and try to loosen the knots.

Obviously I do lose some hair in the process, but not a lot and it is better than having to cut it off.