PDA

View Full Version : Dying hair red without using dyes or chemicals

snowfaery
January 3rd, 2012, 02:45 PM
If this is in the wrong spot or someone has already answered it I'm sorry.

I am trying to dye my hair a reddish tone from what a year ago was almost a black brown color. I stopped coloring my hair using chemicals when a friend of mine touched my hair and it almost broke off at the scalp. So I'm just past the one year mark and it's been agreed that my hair is healthy enough to try and put color back in on the condition it isn't a chemical dye, specifically a box dye which includes henna or something I get at the salon.

I've been bleaching my hair using honey/cinnamon for about 5 months now I think and I've gotten the color to a lighter brown tone that has some red tints to it. I had some luck with it and monistat combined until I messed up and did 2 8 hour honey cinnamon treatments in 2 days and broke off right around 3 inches of hair so I have stopped for a little bit until I re stabilize and regrow my hair out. Currently 23.25 inches, it was at just around 25 inches.

I read the articles on dying hair using powders and have been doing glosses as I couldn't find any recipes for muds. I've been using cranberry powder, beet powder, and carrot powder for about a month now on an almost daily basis and I haven't seen any color change. I'm about out of all of my powders and I'm about ready to give up even though getting a solid red color is important to me. Does anybody have any tips or suggestions on how to get this to work and stick so that the color can build?

Amber_Maiden
January 3rd, 2012, 02:45 PM
Maybe add a bit of henna?

AdrianneJean
January 3rd, 2012, 02:57 PM
You should try henna! I've heard that works really well!

Freija
January 3rd, 2012, 05:47 PM