PDA

View Full Version : Shedding Problems

airmid
January 3rd, 2012, 07:14 AM
Hey!
So I've noticed over the last month or so that I am shedding more and more. It started when I was weaned off the medication Epival (which caused me to lose hair when I went on the stuff, too). The shedding stopped, but now it's started up again. I don't know how many hairs I'm losing as I'm not very good at counting (math learning disability), but it's at least twice as much as is normal for me. I'm going to get tested for any deficiencies. I take lots of B-vitamins and omegas and eat very well, though my diet got a little bad over christmas, I am getting it back on track. ;)
I don't eat meat other than fish so perhaps I may have anemia.
Aside from that, I'm trying to pinpoint the culprit... My fantastic hairdresser cousin tells me it could be a number of things. One of the things she suggested is where I braid my hair every night for braid waves, could be causing traction alopecia. Could my braids be doing this? She recommended not braiding, however, my hair looks really terrible straight (kinky and unmanageable and awful), and if I wear it loose in bed, it tangles like woah! Is there any way I can braid at night without doing damage?
She suggested scalp massage and clarifying with a tea tree oil natural shampoo, which both sound just delicious. Is there anything else, natural and chemical free, that I can do?
Also, I found I shed more when I did an olive oil treatment... what's with that? Was it really the olive oil or just my hair being worse than usual? I lost a LOT of hair after that treatment. :(
Help!!! I don't want to be bald! :'( And thanks in advance!!

Madora
January 3rd, 2012, 07:22 AM
Definitely have a complete blood panel worked up (for anemia) and maybe have your thyroid checked as well.