PDA

View Full Version : Coarse Hairs Unite

cooklaezo13
December 13th, 2011, 07:53 AM
This thread is for those of us who have coarse hairs, those of us whose individual hairs are very thick (not necessarily thick hair overall, although that is often the case). What do you notice about your hair, about its likes and dislikes? What made you realize that you have coarse hair? Do you have straight, curly, kinky or wavy hair?
I first noticed I had coarse hair when I was in eighth grade. For a science lab, we all had to pluck out a hair from our head and observe it under the microscope. My hair was easily twice as thick as everyone else in the class! I often compare my hairs shed in the shower to other hairs that I see there (I am a student and live in a dorm so I get to see lots of people's shed hairs :(). Mine are usually the most coarse. My ex-boyfriend used to complain when I would shed a lot because of how visible the shed hairs are due to their thickness, and how long my hair was back then.
My hair is straight and doesn't tangle much, even when it was waist-length I rarely had bad tangles. It tends to get very dry at the ends and I've recently discovered that the ends of my hair like to be oiled. My hair doesn't show grease as much as my fine-haired friends, but I still feel the need to wash it every other day to keep it looking its best. I'm trying to stretch washes more but it's hard because my hair is too short to wear up when it gets greasy.

Arctic
December 13th, 2011, 08:12 AM
I'll be keeping an eye on this thread! I have had coarse hairs for only few years now, and am still sort of lost with them. I have stick straight coarse hairs that do not bend, I have kinky curls, wurls and waves, and all of these tend to be wiry. I guess coarse hairs make about 1/3 of my hair.

There used to be another coarse hair thread, but I for one like to start new thread when old one gets too massive. I'll come back in a minute to add a link to the old one.