PDA

View Full Version : Can you help my "Chameleon hair" curl?

piffyanne
December 12th, 2011, 11:37 PM
Sorry, I gotta warn you in advance this got pretty long.

I've brushed (NOT combed) all my life, and always thought my hair was slightly wavy (see what it's listed as right now), but while browsing a couple forums recently, I realized my hair's permanent "halo" of frizz sounds a lot like what curlies/wurlies get when they don't let their hair swirl as it wishes to. Because I suspect my hair is two different types based on what I do with it, I'm calling it "Chameleon hair."

I read elsewhere that if you "scrunch" your hair with conditioner in it, if you're a wurler, it'll squiggle properly (forgive the un-technical terms, I'm new to the terminology, never having needed it before).

In 2008, I "scrunched" with conditioner and it went all wurly, and I wore it to an art gallery that way. The picture here shows the mostly-straight, somewhat wavy hair I thought I had, and the wurly hair I suspect is in here somewhere:
http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/392688_10150409858312282_632327281_8794307_1186155 75_n.jpg
Someone on here says my "hidden" hairtype may be 2c?

Today, as an experiment to see if the wurl still exists, I finger-detangled in the shower and plopped when I got out. Once that towel was sufficiently soaked, I carefully switched towels and re-plopped, and then switched again when the third one was saturated with water. (I swear my hair holds more water than EVER came out of the shower head. It's just crazy how long it takes to dry!) Because my hair was STILL wet (!) I left it up in the towel for another 45 minutes to an hour, instead of the 15 minutes suggested. I took it out about 15 minutes before it was totally dry.

After all that, my hair looked like this:
http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/377206_10150412090052282_632327281_8801169_1252761 077_n.jpg