PDA

View Full Version : Hair colour drastically changing, naturally, by itself

Amber_Maiden
December 11th, 2011, 07:26 PM
I was discussing my hair with my mom today (I hadn't seen her in 3 months, and it turns out she's pretty supportive, now, of me growing my hair), and we discussed pregnancy and hair. We both have very similar hair, and hers used to be red auburn, like mine. Then when she became pregnant her roots started coming in a drastically different colour- dark dark brown- and it stayed that way, even after I was born, and even now, 23 years later. My hair also, since being pregnant, has changed from red auburn to dark dark brown. My roots started coming in this colour the month I became pregnant. It made my hair look like I'd been dying it red... (It didn't help that I had been using henna for a year, but still- I was pretty close to my natural colour). I started playing around with indigo to darken it after and then herbal dye (neither of which worked, you can still see henna).. ANYWAYS... I don't mind at all... Well, maybe I do a little, but it's a small price to pay.

I was wondering if any other board members have had this happen to them? Have their hair colour change drastically when they became pregnant and not have it go back to the way it was before?

Springlets
December 12th, 2011, 01:39 AM
It hasn't happened to me (I've never been pregnant) but my sister's has always darkened during pregnancies. After her second child and while she took a break from having kids, her hair lightened to the color it was in middle school- strawberry blonde. Then when she got pregnant again, it darkened, and as far as I know hasn't lightened. :shrug: Sorry if that doesn't cheer you up, but as far as I know, it is fairly common for hair to darken during pregnancy, depending on how light your hair is in the first place.

WaitingSoLong
December 12th, 2011, 05:37 AM