PDA

View Full Version : Tying off braids/plaits - damage?

LocustSpawning
December 1st, 2011, 03:29 AM
I've tried to do a search for this but terms like 'tying braids damage' etc are too vague.

I sleep with my hair in a braid to prevent tangles.. but I'm a bit worried about the hair tie being in the same place at the bottom of the braid every night.. surely it's damaging.

I don't know anything else I can do with my hair when I sleep.. I'm not very good with buns and I can't wear hair sticks to bed (obviously :p), so braids are the obvious option. Hmm.

jojo
December 1st, 2011, 03:48 AM
I would imagine tying the braid in the same place would cause damage overtime, outchless bobbles will help with this but only a little. I would think regardless of the type of bobble used, it will cause damage overtime.

Id suggest dropping spidermom a line, she does a wrapping method to her braids which she does (i think) to prevent damage.

Sundial
December 1st, 2011, 04:17 AM
Like what jojo said, spidermom ties off her braids using a gentler method. She wraps a damp piece of ribbon on the tassel before she ties it off so that the cloth acts as a buffer.

For my sleep braids, I just use large silk scrunchies and vary my tassel length each time so that the scrunchie sits at different height each time. I also vary it with buns. I only use spidermom's method when I'm going out with a braid but that rarely happen because I prefer regular buns.

CurlyMopTop
December 1st, 2011, 07:20 AM
I don't tie off my braids at all when I where sleep braids. I just twirl the tassel around with my finger a couple of times and call it good. You would think that they would unravel in my sleep, but they don't. Sometimes the bottom plait or two might come undone, but for the most part it stays put. It might work different for a straightie though, but it's worth a shot! :D

Zesty
December 1st, 2011, 07:32 AM
I second the large scrunchie suggestion. Those worked pretty well for me.

Snippety