PDA

View Full Version : Does anybody here keep their hair oiled most of the time?

Yame
November 30th, 2011, 06:29 PM
I'm sure this has been asked and discussed a million times before, but I am feeling too lazy to read through all the oiling threads for the relevant information.

I am pretty new to oiling... I just never felt the need to oil my hair, because it feels fine enough without it. However, now that my hair has adjusted to just once a week washing, it only starts getting oily towards the end of the week, a few days before the next wash day. And even then, it doesn't get oily enough for the oil to travel down my length.

Now, you might be thinking, what's wrong with that? Technically there is nothing wrong with it, except that when my hair is very clean, it's harder for my updos to stay... and I get tons of flyaways, so my buns look messy. Last week, I oiled my hair towards the beginning of the week, and had rock solid, shiny, glossy, and neat buns throughout the week. This week I didn't do that at first, and I missed it. So tonight I just oiled my hair, and I am thinking of starting to oil my hair a few days after wash day regularly now. So, washing on Saturday, wearing my hair down Saturday and Sunday, then oiling on Monday and keeping it oiled obviously until the next wash day.

Does anyone else do that? Would that be somehow bad for my hair (to leave oil in it for 4-5 days)? What oil do you use?

Last week I used coconut oil. But the thing about coconut oil, is that although I love the smell of it by itself, I hate the smell of it once it's on my hair. It's like it changes from this delicious, dreamy coconut smell into something disgusting. And it's not like my hair, by itself, smells bad! So I don't know why that happens. Tonight I used grapeseed oil because it's light and fairly odorless.

jojo
November 30th, 2011, 06:32 PM