PDA

View Full Version : Texture Change: Curly!! What do I do?!?

Gwendolene
November 26th, 2011, 01:23 PM
I recently moved from some where very humid, to very dry and now my hair has gone from 1cFii/iii to actual curls. I was expecting the opposite, but I think, perhaps the humidity was weighing down the curls before??

Anyway, the top layer of my hair is one giant mat. The more I touch it the more it tangles, and I have no idea what to do! If I have to cut it all off, just to get rid of the mats, I am going to be so sad.

Finger brushing has never worked for me because my hair is so thick and suddenly brushing is the worst thing ever!

Mairéad
November 26th, 2011, 02:05 PM
Hmm, I'm no expert but the problem would be the tangles right? Have you tried a really bad*** detangler at all? You may want to get something nice and cone-y and hope that makes some of those tangles come undone. If you're living in a dry area now there's no doubt you'll need moisture treatments and to make only controlled use of humetants.

I hope someone else comes along to help as I've never really suffered bad tangles. I'm just pitching some ideas. :o

Arctic
November 26th, 2011, 02:28 PM
I'm thinking it might water related. Maybe your water at the new place has lot of minerals?

GuinevereMay
November 26th, 2011, 02:33 PM
I'm thinking it might water related. Maybe your water at the new place has lot of minerals?
That was my thought, too. When I visited London, my hair was a tangled mess and I couldn't even get a comb through it, no matter how much conditioner I used. I went back home (to Hawaii, at the time,) and my hair went back to normal.

In fact, my avatar picture is braided tangles, believe it or not. I couldn't get a comb through my hair that morning.

Gwendolene
November 26th, 2011, 02:34 PM

Yes! All the coffee pots get calcified in no time... Does that change hair texture?

Gwendolene
November 26th, 2011, 02:36 PM