PDA

View Full Version : After bad hairdresser experiences, I want to trim my own hair ......

Lucy Lilac
November 22nd, 2011, 03:44 PM
I'm new to the LHC and am so pleased to have found this fantastic forum :)

I've been trying to grow my hair for a while and until recently, it was at shoulder length and doing quite nicely. Trouble is, I visited the hairdresser a few days ago for a trim. I just wanted the hemline tidying, but she persuaded me to have layers chopped into my hair and eventually, I stupidly agreed - BIG mistake! My hair is very fine and the hairdresser insisted that layers would make it look thicker, which turned out to be untrue, as I've been left with a horrible, thin wispy mess with really short layers on top - a mullet in fact! What's more, the top layers feel really dry and out of condition. I'm so upset as it will now take me ages to grow the layers out - I just don't know where these hairdressers get their ideas from.

Anyway, as I've had so many hairdresser disasters over the years, I simply don't want to visit one EVER again and wondered if it would be OK to trim my own hair in future (not that it will need a trim for a very long time!). Is there anyone out there with a similar experience who doesn't use a hairdresser and trims their own hair?

Any advice / feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks for reading! :poot:

girlcat36
November 22nd, 2011, 03:47 PM
I have never had a good salon experience. I have very fine, thin, curly hair and hairdressers don't seem to understand how to work with it. I have been self trimming for 7 years.

ETA: Welcome to the LHC!!!

Amber_Maiden
November 22nd, 2011, 03:51 PM
I've never had a very good salon experience either. I think I'll be cutting my own hair in the future, or getting my mom to. It's just easier.

Ps. Your layers will grow out. Breathe. Stay calm! :)

Madora
November 22nd, 2011, 04:01 PM