PDA

View Full Version : What has stopped/slowed your shedding?

teb
November 16th, 2011, 03:28 PM
I have been losing an abnormal amount of hair for a few years now and I can tell. What technique or product have you used that has helped to curtail your shedding?

I few that I feel have been some help in the past is using Nizoral shampoo, and tea rinses.

blondie9912
November 16th, 2011, 03:44 PM
If it's been going on for several years there may be medical reasons behind it. Imbalances of hormones in the thyroid as well as anemia could both result in extreme shedding. Maybe see your doctor?

Lissandria
November 16th, 2011, 03:48 PM
you may need to see a doctor. For me it has been ceasing the use of chemical hair dye, and ACV rinses.

Leisje
November 16th, 2011, 03:50 PM
My shedding has greatly reduced with using shampoo bars.

Perhaps you need a new wash method?
When I tried doing the conditioner only wash thing my hair shed great amounts, and I notice if I do even one wash with an SLS based shampoo now that my hair sheds a great deal more too.

So if you have been checked out healthwise and there is no medical reason for your hairshed, maybe try a new routine. You may have a sensitive scalp.

ChelleyCredible
November 16th, 2011, 03:55 PM
Also, if youre on any medications it plays a part in excessive shedding. My poor mother is dealing with that right now. Might want to get checked out at a doctor if you feel the amount you are shedding is abnormal.

Madora
November 16th, 2011, 04:17 PM
Teb, for your sake, and that of your hair, see a doctor as soon as you can. Have a complete blood panel and ask about anemia. Also, have your thyroid checked too, as it plays an important part in your overall hair health.

Good luck!
ps. I speak from experience re: abnormal hair loss. Mine was caused by severe anemia which required several transfusions to return to good health.

Jesabel
November 16th, 2011, 04:51 PM