PDA

View Full Version : Sad about major shed - lost so much hair

Lilli
November 8th, 2011, 06:38 AM
I have been shedding for two months, and I know that many people shed in the fall, but I have lost so much hair. I went from 2.5" ponytail circumference to less than 2". That means I lost 25% of my hair. It is so thin now.

I am frustrated that my hair is finally APL, which was my goal since coming here with a chin-length bob two years ago, and yet is so thin. Now, even if it decides to grow in thicker, it will take 3 years for the new hairs to get to APL. Three years of thin hair, and if I keep growing the rest of it, I will have some very sparse ends.

Just feeling really defeated today.

Amber_Maiden
November 8th, 2011, 06:56 AM
aw! *hugs*

Hang in there. It can only get better right? So you have to grow for a couple more years, those years will be gone like *snap*. You'll get through this. Be strong.

Kiwiwi
November 8th, 2011, 07:03 AM
I'm sorry! :(
If it's that much in just two months I'd go to my doctor! Maybe something's wrong!

Amiblue
November 8th, 2011, 08:52 AM
I understand. I am also going through a major shed and have lost about 3/4 now!!! I went to the doctor and the stylist to figure it out. We may have, but my hair is still terribly thin!

So, together, we will make it though. No worries, after all, it will grow back. And the more you think about it, the worse you feel. So love what you have and before you know it, it will be back again.

Madora
November 8th, 2011, 09:52 AM
Not to sound like a worrywart, but I'd go to a doctor too. Hair loss can be caused by many things, including anemia. I speak from experience. Also, you might want to have your thyroid checked as it plays an important part in your hair's general health.

Good luck!

Juneii
November 8th, 2011, 10:00 AM