PDA

View Full Version : Bun help

Tawnylioness
November 7th, 2011, 04:52 PM
I am new to the whole bun thing, i never bothered to do much with my hair aside from a ponytail or a braid so i am not very good at them yet, also my hair is either thin, or fine, or both im not sure, either way my hair falls out of most things i try. but my current problem is when i put a hair stick in my bun , lets say i do a Chinese bun so the stick is horizontal, after a couple mins the stick starts to tilt down, this happens with every bun i try so i assume im not anchoring it properly. any advise?

hendricks82
November 7th, 2011, 05:03 PM
I had this problem when I first started bunning with sticks and the like. It really just took practice finding what held tight and what fell loose.

The best for my slippery hair is a lazy wrap bun, and I make sure that I get the stick through the whole "loop" and not just pieces of it (if that makes any sense at all)

But honestly a few months ago my hair didn't stay in a cinnabun with a stick and now it does. That can't attributed to length because I've had a trim... its just practice.

In fact just last weekend I figured out my flexi 8 I've had since last Christmas! (and I wore it everyday this week lol)

shikara
November 7th, 2011, 06:36 PM
It could be that practice practice practice will eventually work or it could also be that sticks may not work well for you, or it could be the bun. Not everyone can use sticks, or clips, or claws. I can't use sticks no matter what I do. It took forever to get hairpins to keep a bun up, but because of my lack of density or some other factor, they poke and prod. If your practice yields results for you, then great! If not, you are certainly not alone - you'll just have to try something else.... Good luck!

jojo
November 7th, 2011, 06:39 PM
Just to clarify fine is relating to the indivudual strands and thin is the overal volume, for e.g. my hair is very fine but it is thickish in bulk....:)