PDA

View Full Version : Need Renaissance hair-do!!! Help!

Kirin
July 7th, 2008, 01:22 PM
Okay, I am hair - do challenged. This season I am selling my artwork at a lot of renaissance faires and normally my hair had been super short, so I didn't have to worry much. Now, this is my current hair:

http://www.fantasydimensions.com/hairlength2.jpg

What on earth do I do? I'm not very good at updos, and a sock bun well, my hair is thin so the sock or whatever i'm using shows RIGHT through. How can I style this hair in other than a pony tail that would be well, period?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Magdalene
July 7th, 2008, 01:23 PM
SNOOD. Easy.

Kirin
July 7th, 2008, 01:25 PM
I have a snood, but it doesn't stay well on my head and sort of looks like a deflated sack so I was trying to avoid that look LOL. I can experiment more with it.

Anje
July 7th, 2008, 01:27 PM
Snood would definitely work well... a Gibson tuck wouldn't be period, but it's unusual and different-looking enough to be a hit at a ren faire. Braids are always classic.

Oh, and the trick for sock buns that I've learned is to have a sock more or less similar to your hair color. My hair's a solid ii and white gym socks are obvious as can be. However, I picked up a pair of medium brown women's dress socks at the dollar store, and now you can't see the sock at all.

KatKeRo
July 7th, 2008, 02:43 PM
I was going to say snood also.
I don't know what period your costume is from or what class but women usually had some kind of hat on their head. You can wear one thet goes with your costume.

lyneya
July 7th, 2008, 06:49 PM
Just braid it or pull it back. You get all sorts at Ren Fairs, no one will think anything of it! You could even make friends with the folks that do the braids and put little ribbons in and things.