PDA

View Full Version : Sulfate after going no-poo

Lici1209
October 29th, 2011, 11:10 PM
So I've been using a non-sulfate shampoo (Yes to Tomatoes) for a few months and successfully transitioned. I came home though for a few days and had to use a sulfate shampoo. How far will this set me back? Is this starting over?

Vanilla
October 30th, 2011, 12:31 AM
So I've been using a non-sulfate shampoo (Yes to Tomatoes) for a few months and successfully transitioned. I came home though for a few days and had to use a sulfate shampoo. How far will this set me back? Is this starting over?

I think your transition has been enough time that it shoudnt make a difference.

When I shampooed with a SLS shampoo instead of a non SLS shampoo, I waited a little longer to shampoo with the non sulfate shampoo to get back to my normal routine (4 days instead of 3 days).

Roscata
October 30th, 2011, 03:43 AM
I used SLS shampoo after a year long break and I did not see any scalp set backs. If anything my scalp just got rid of build-up and I was able to go without washing for a couple of days longer (just this once). I guess using SLS shampoo on a regular basis upsets my scalp, but using it rarely is OK.

I hope that explanation helps! :D

oktobergoud
October 30th, 2011, 05:11 AM
I use both SLS and non-SLS shampoos all the time. I use the one with SLS once in a few weeks to clarify (I still use cones!) and I don't notice any difference...

Lici1209
October 30th, 2011, 10:29 AM
Awesome, thanks everyone!

Roscata
October 30th, 2011, 03:44 PM
You're welcome Lici1209! :D

Lici1209
October 30th, 2011, 06:54 PM
Sorry, more questions! So today my hair got really itchy and dandruffy, it was so weird! I'm torn though, should I use a sulfate dandruff shampoo (T/Gel) or try to keep going without? I don't want to set myself back, I guess once didn't do anything but I'm worried twice in one week will set me back.

Roscata
October 30th, 2011, 09:47 PM