PDA

View Full Version : Detangling ?

Eirene
October 21st, 2011, 08:41 AM
Hi,

I'm still a newbie to this forum and I'm a little overwhelmed by all these useful informations. I've looked for an answer to my question, but got lost :D

Anyway, here it is : I've got fine, thin hair and breakage issues at the ends (this seems to be common for fine-haired people judging from what I read here). I think I'm increasing the damage when detangling. Here's what I usually do : I detangle right after washing, when still wet/damp (I'm 2 weels into WO and this already made detangling easier). I start on top of my head and the gently comb down to the ends. I really try to be as gentle as I can and use a wide-toothed comb, but in the end it more or less boils down to having all the tangles concentrated in the few last centimeters, and then it gets hard not to damage anything...

Do you awesome LHCers have any advice ? TIA ! :blossom:

moxamoll
October 21st, 2011, 09:03 AM
I've seen people advocate for detangling both when wet and when dry, so I think that's just up to experimentation. Let's see what the others say.

However, I do think that it's better to start at the bottom of the length and work your way up (carefully, of course!) when working out the tangles.

heidi w.
October 21st, 2011, 09:10 AM
Detangle in the opposite direction, from the bottom up, getting rid of tangles as you slowly and carefully work your way up. This seems odd, at first; but in time, you'll get it.

What you're effectively doing is moving the tangles down and thereby increasing knots in the lower/lowest lengths of hair that are very hard to get out.

Keep using a comb.