PDA

View Full Version : tips and advice for my newly long hair

airmid
October 18th, 2011, 07:29 AM
Hello, folks! I'm a newbie here and I don't have much experience with forums, so I hope I'm doing everything correctly by posting this. :)
My hair is very newly long, and because I had short hair so long, I don't really understand how to take care of it well. I'm pretty sure I did some minor things wrong while growing it out, like almost never getting it trimmed (I never wanted to sacrifice the length I was getting, because I was so thrilled with it!)
What I need to know is how to take proper care of it, so that it is healthy, strong, and lush. :) My hair is a fine texture, the kind of straight hair that can get messy and tangled easily. I henna it for colour, strength, and thickness, which really helps.
Recently, I've notices that the ends are super dry while the roots are oily, and it falls out a lot and breaks easier than it did when it was short. I like to use all natural, inexpensive things, in general, as I'm on a tight budget and a bit of a chemical-phobe. And I'm thinking my shampoo/conditioner is maybe not the best for my hair... are there alternatives to shampooing that would be healthier?
So basically, I need your collective wisdom, your experience, on how to make my terrific instead of just nice. :) Thank you! Any ideas are welcome!

letterstodes
October 18th, 2011, 07:35 AM