PDA

View Full Version : Progress and advice needed

Morgaine
October 17th, 2011, 02:47 PM
I joined in june last year trying to thicken up my hemline but I only got a camera in september so here is my progress since then :
http://www.longhaircommunity.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=6162&pictureid=116330
As you can see... no progress at all.

And now I need your advice...
I've had long hair pretty much all my life and I love having long hair and I still want it long. Tailbone length is my favorite length.
But I've always been struggling with low iron and sometimes anemia. It makes my hair shed a lot.
The problem is that iron supplements makes me sick after 2 or 3 weeks so I can't get a norrmal iron level. Hence the thin hair...

I've been trimming regularly and wearing my hair in updos for a bit more than five years now, in the hopes of thickening my hemline because... well... the pictures above are what my hair looks like when I try to make it look decent.
Now I will show you how it looks like if I don't try to make it look good for pictures and how my braid tapers :
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6162&pictureid=116417
And just out of a bun :
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6162&pictureid=116418

From BSL down (maybe even APL) it just looks horrible.
I really don't like it like this, it looks stringy and see-through, so I'm almost never wearing it down.
The thing is that lately I've been really fed up with wearing my hair in a bun all the time. It doesn't suit me, it makes me look strict and it tugs a lot.
I want to be able to show off my hair a bit, wear it down more often, and I'm tired to be over cautious about damage.
If I couldn't make it look good and full in five years of regular trimming, care, updos and damage free routine, will I ever get decent long hair?
So what would you do? Keep it like this for the sake of having long hair? Cut it? Where? Waist? Mid back? BSL? APL?

Any advice is welcome :-)