PDA

View Full Version : Cut off all the damage? Or grow?

Enigma
October 17th, 2011, 09:21 AM
Ok, so I'm starting fresh with my hair and did a major cut to get rid of a lot of the bleach and heat damage. However, it's not all gone, and the only truly healthy parts of my hair are the two or so inches of roots.

I'm taking really good care of my hair now, but I'm wondering whether I should cut absolutely all the damaged hair off to prevent my hair from splitting up to the top, or whether it's ok to just let it grow and get regular trims along the way, and that way eventually getting rid of the damage.

Any advice would be appreciated :)

joflakes
October 17th, 2011, 09:34 AM
I had a similar predicament and went for the chop, but then again one side was nearly shaven and the other chin length!
I think either way it works out the same (though I am not experienced in these things) as eventually it'll be chopped. Depends on if you can brave a really short hair style or not I guess!
Mine feels lovely and looks shiny but the style is somewhat lacking!

spidermom
October 17th, 2011, 09:36 AM
I think I'd just maintain or maybe trim off a little less than it grows so that I can see a little progress while I'm getting rid of damage.

My strategy in the past has been to grow as long as I could stand it, then get the damage cut off all at once. I think I'd approach it differently (as above) now.

rock007junkie
October 17th, 2011, 09:37 AM
I think a cut is really mandatory only if you see splits because they can travel up and damage the rest of your hair. If your hair only feels dry and such a little TLC could make it better with time....along with DTs, PTs and oiling among other things

rocket_surgeon
October 17th, 2011, 09:43 AM