PDA

View Full Version : Howzat for contextualized advertisement ?

slz
October 16th, 2011, 03:18 PM
I just got a drain unclogging product ad here on the mane forum page.
Coïncidence ? I don't think so.

:rolling: :rolling: :rolling: :rolling:

einna
October 16th, 2011, 05:50 PM
These ads are freakishly accurate. Right now I am looking at an ad for a weekend trip to Copenhagen. I studied there for a semester...

Grillz
October 16th, 2011, 06:31 PM
I have one for Lice shampoo.. I sure hope these ads don't foreshadow!

rock007junkie
October 16th, 2011, 06:36 PM
I think it has to do with what our searches are. I was doing a search for Rooibos tea and a banner for some tea company came about.

Immera
October 16th, 2011, 06:53 PM
It seems to know I searched google this morning for halloween shirts and last week for vacuum cleaners. There is more at work here than coincidence.

jaine
October 16th, 2011, 07:50 PM
Yeah it's definitely related to your google searches and the websites you visit. I've been mattress shopping this weekend and all of my ads are for mattresses. :p

Yozhik
October 16th, 2011, 08:52 PM
Right next to this post is an ad for an outdoors wear company that I was browsing to buy a present for DBF.

Well, I paused in reading the thread and bought the present -- I guess their messages work on me! :o

slz
October 17th, 2011, 12:06 AM
Yeah it's definitely related to your google searches and the websites you visit.
In the case of the unclogging stuff, well I assure you I never tried to buy any online ! Actually my drains are not clogged since I do not shed at all when shampooing - so it means it relates to the current page, I dunno, but the idea of someone setting the keywords for the product to appear and thinking "hmmmm .... let's put "long hair", too" just cracks me up :D .

katsrevenge
October 17th, 2011, 12:09 AM
Wait.. where are the ads?

pink.sara
October 17th, 2011, 12:53 AM
Lol, they are asking me to buy Orofluido online. I have no idea what that is.